Sunday Funday: Picking your perfect Sunday tune

16

I <3 sundays. It’s true. I love them. It’s the one day of the week that I can get eggs benedict until 2 pm and sloth-like behavior is somewhat acceptable. I also find that for whatever reason I listen to more music on Sundays. I think it’s because using my brain to make conversation seems like too trying of a task, but either way I have set out to make the perfect Sunday playlist.

And guess what?!?! I want your help! I would like at least 20+ tracks to put on this playlist….so start throwing those tunes out there. I am going kick start this little experiment with two of my all time favorite sunday-licious tracks….a little throwback to Phoenix’s “United” album with “If I Ever Feel Better” and the smooth sounds of Iron and Wine singing “The Trapeze Swinger”. I am not sure what makes a song Sunday-worthy, but both these tracks make those Mondays seem like a far away fret.

So let’s get funday with Sunday. Start throwing some of your favorite tunes out there.

The Trapeze Swinger, Around the Well

_____________________________________________________________________

If I Ever Feel Better, United

16 comments on “Sunday Funday: Picking your perfect Sunday tune

  1. Dad says:

    Hi Val,

    Seems like no one has been very helpful in creating your Sunday playlist, and I suspect that as unsophisticated as my taste is in music that anything I might offer up will not pass muster for you either. However, being unsophisticated (and tone deaf … ugh) is not going to keep me from throwing a few tunes out there for you to consider.

    Most people spend Sunday in church, especially here in East Texas, so maybe “If You Wanna Get to Heaven” by the Ozark Mountain Daredevils would be appropriate … or maybe not given the rest of the chorus in this song. I like the harmonica, but again, I am pretty simple.

    Speaking of simple, a couple of songs I have always found to be fun are among the few I can manage to sing along with in a group … Aimie by Pure Prarie League and Margaritaville by Jimmy Buffet. I remember a busload of us singing this on the way to a Sunday morning brunch many, many years ago … your Mom was with me, but it was before we were married … she heard me singing and still married me … go figure :-).

    Speaking of your Mom (who, as you know can carry a tune), we have been together so long now that we often know what the other is thinking and what they are going to say before it is uttered (sp?). Anyway, this makes me think of another favorite song of mine (which I would never try to sing along with) … “When You Say Nothing at All” by Allison Krauss and Union Station.

    So there’s four songs to consider, but I suspect none of them will make your final Sunday-Funday playlist, which is OK. Just wanted to let you know that someone appreciated you throwing it open for some feedback and help in putting that playlist together.

    I love you and hope you have many, many wonderful Sundays regardless of the length of your playlist :-)

    Dad

  2. szg says:

    I stumbled onto your blog, like so many other music blogs, in search of good music. I’ve never been here before, and the wheel of fortune may never return me here. Ordinarily, I would listen to whatever brought me and move along. But, after reading your plea, and the response your dad left you, I felt it my duty to at least leave a little something behind. Here are my humble offerings, good luck!

    If you can track down the acoustic set Good Old War did for Purevolume.com, all 5 of the tracks could be on a Sunday mix. If you can’t find the acoustic concert, their song Coney Island is still a winner.

    Islands by the XX.

    Another Likely Story, Au Revoir Simone

    How about Bon Iver covering Peter Gabriel’s Come Talk To Me.

    Little Bribes, Death Cab for Cutie

    Since its a Sunday a mix, how about Aretha Franklin covering Simon and Garfunkel’s Bridge over Troubled Water — a nice gospel version.

    Jack Johnson covering White Stripes — We’re Going to Be Friends.

    I Will Live on Islands, Josh Rouse.

    Summer is the Champion, Laura Veirs.

    Bloodbuzz Ohio, The National (not sure how “fun” this one is).

    Gamma Ray, Beck.

    Road, Nick Drake.

  3. Swhips says:

    Hey there,

    I, like the user above me actually found my way here via the Hype Machine, and I gotta say that I don’t think you should care how few comments you’ve gotten because you’ve picked two really good songs to start with and introduced me to a fantastically melodic Iron and Wine track. So thank you.

    To add to your playlist, I’ve got a few picks of my own, and I’ll throw my support behind the ones suggested by szg, they’re good choices as well.

    Here are a few suggestions for your Sunday Playlist:
    Passing Afternoon – Iron and Wine
    President – Wyclef Jean
    Vaporize – Broken Bells
    In Your Atmosphere (Live) – John Mayer
    All I Need – Radiohead
    Don’t Watch Me Dancing – Little Joy
    Everlasting Light – The Black Keys
    Castles Made of Sand – The Jimi Hendrix Experience
    Sunshine – Atmosphere
    Audience – Cold War Kids
    Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks – The National (As a possible alternative to Bloodbuzz Ohio, if you find that too lulled and moody – they’re still both great song, you can’t go wrong with either one)

    Hope you enjoy those, and good luck with your sunday playlist! Please post it if you ever finish your compilation.

  4. chris says:

    The intro to the Iron & Wine song sounds juuust like the cover Barbara did of Kid Cudi. Check it out, here’s the hypem listing
    http://hypem.com/#/search/barbara%20pursuit%20of%20happiness/1/

  5. Mom says:

    Spiral Staircase, “I love you more today than yesterday!” Sunday is for whistling, bobbin’ and swayin’.

  6. Mom says:

    The song from Two Weeks Notice, “They Paved Paradise”

  7. Barbara Streisand says:

    Of course, my choice is “People Who Need People.”

  8. Stephanie says:

    Sometimes songs give me goosebumps, this song is one of them.

    Sleep – The Dandy Warhols

    Here’s a link to it:
    http://thenotes.tumblr.com/post/468449592/the-dandy-warhols-sleep-thirteen-tales

  9. austin says:

    Some of my favorite tracks, I think they all apply to the fun and carefree attitude of a good sunday. :)

    “Levan” by Okinawa Lifestyle
    “Florida” by Starfucker
    “Modern Mystery” by Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin
    “This is All I Came To Do” by Dinosaur Jr.

  10. jess says:

    sunday mornings – maroon five
    man in the shade – nick drake
    take five – any version that is nice and acoustic
    fools or walking – the dodos
    gravity – whitest boy alive
    crosses – jose gonzalez
    modern drift – efterklang
    i was playing the drums – efterklang
    the blues are still blue – belle & sebastian
    nantes – beirut
    chicago – sufjan stevens
    power of not knowing – kings of convenience
    this orient – the foals
    bare feast – ratatat
    two weeks – grizzly bear
    just – radiohead

    even if you dont put it on the playlist, give it a listen

    • Jeff Ryckman says:

      Jess and Swhips, Great posts!!! Val, great idea to start this. By stumbling to this blog, I’ve discovered some great music.

      Here’s my take on some favorites off the top of my head. Although I know many of these tracks are probably too chill/won’t fit into a ‘Sunday funday’ mix, this would just be an idea of a my good sunday mix.. Some of these songs comprise my favorite feel-good tracks… or some are, in a way, introspective.. It’s hard to explain lol but give them a listen!

      Hiphop/Mashup/Classics Sunday:
      Barbara – Iron and Wine ‘The Trapeze Swinger’ vs. KiD CuDi’s ‘Pursuit of Happiness’
      Jay-Z/The Verve – Brush your bittersweet shoulders off
      KiD CuDi – Satellite, Mr. Rager, The Prayer, Man on the Moon (The Anthem)
      Dan black ft. Kid CuDi – Symphonies (Remix)
      50 Cent – Hate it of love it (G-unit remix)
      DJ Moondance – Party in Compton
      Jackon 5 – I want you back
      LMFAO – La la la
      Michael Jackson – PYT
      Ratatat – wildcat
      Extras: Drake vs Coldplay – Lose Your Love, Sam adams – driving me crazy, B.o.B. – Magic ft. Rivers Cuomo

      Chill Sunday:
      Trifonic – Good Enough
      Radiohead vs. Coldplay – High and Dry vs. The Scientist
      The Album Leaf – Vermillion, The Outer Banks, Twenty Two Fourteen, Into the Sea, Blank Pages
      TV on the radio – DLZ
      Death cab for cutie – Grapevine fires
      zero 7 – Give it Away
      Nick Drake – one of these things first
      Mogwai – Now You’re taken, Friend of the Night (<- Mogwai is an awesome, unique band who mainly does instrumentals. They are a bit of an acquired taste. I first heard them providing the background for an amazing speech set to a video on youtube. Search: 'wearehere'. However, brace yourself, it's probably too intense for a "Sunday funday" mindset lol)

      Electro Sunday:
      Silversun Pickups – Lazy Eye (Jason Bentley remix)
      The Killers – Mr. Brightside (thin white duke remix)
      Phoenix – 1901 (D.L.I.D. Remix)
      Bloc party – Tulips (Minotaur Shock Remix)
      Royksopp – What else is there? (Thin white duke remix)
      Max Graham feat. Neev Kennedy – Sun in the Winter (Estiva remix)

      Yes, some songs are old news. Regardless, they made the cut for the slim chance that a passer-by hasn't heard it. As you've probably noticed, I like remixes and mash-ups… With all due respect to the original songs of course :)

  11. jess says:

    Ps Your blog is awesome. Thank you. Be my friend.

  12. Kyle says:

    A.A. Bondy has some good songs especially “Vice Rag” and “Oh the Vampyre.” Mason Jennings and M. Ward have a lot of good stuff too.

  13. Ben says:

    Two Weeks – Grizzly Bear is the most obvious addition I’ve seen here. I’d also throw in My Girls – Animal Collective.

  14. drehms says:

    CHECK OUT http://WWW.SKOODMUSIC.COM. LOVE YOUR SITE, CHECK OUT OURS, I BET YOU’LL LIKE IT

Leave a Reply

