Drake: Jimi Hendrix

1

Drake really has come along way since Degrassi – for those of you who loved Jimmy even after the wheel chair incident will understand why Drake holds a very special place in my heart. As for Drake, he only has eyes for Jimi Hendrix. According to Rolling Stone, “The Canadian rapper has always admired Hendrix, but when he got a DVD of the guitarist performing at Woodstock, admiration grew into obsession: “I play it constantly on my tour bus,” Drake says. “He had to play around 8 a.m., after a huge storm, but he went out there and put on one of the greatest shows I’ve ever seen. I love watching that before I go onstage. When I played Seattle, we drove out to his grave site. I left a note for him that said, ‘Still inspired.’

I am posting my favorite from the list, Foxy Lady. I love it because like Drake says, “That opening riff, it’s like a drop off a cliff.” Also see below for the rest of his Hendrix favorites.

Drake: Jimi Hendrix

  1. “Voodoo Chile” 1968
  2. “All Along the Watchtower” 1968
  3. “Machine Gun” 1970
  4. “Purple Haze” 1967
  5. “The Wind Cries Mary” 1967
  6. “Little Miss Strange” 1968
  7. “Hey Joe” 1967
  8. “Star Spangled Banner” 1970
  9. “House Burning Down”1968
  10. “Foxy Lady” 1967
One comment on “Drake: Jimi Hendrix

  1. ryanwcox says:

    He only has 3 0f my top 10 Jimi songs in my list. Mine would be.

    1. Little Wing
    2. If 6 was 9
    3. The Wind Cries Mary
    4. Castles Made of Sand
    5. All Along the Watchtower
    6. Love or Confusion
    7. Voodoo Chile
    8. May this be Love
    9. Manic Depression
    10. Rainy Day Dream Away

Leave a Reply

