It’s called the blues for a reason…

1

I took a Blues class while I was attending Vanderbilt and let me tell you…I got schooled. I learned about life, love, tragedy, broken hearts, getting rich and loosing it all. You might ask, how do Son House, Skip James and Memphis Minnie teach you about all that?! Well that’s the Blues, baby. The Blues preach the truth about it all, even if it’s not that easy to hear…like Muddy waters belts, “You can’t lose what you ain’t never had…” It was one of the more enriching classes I took at school and it seemed wise to use that knowledge t0 post some of my absolute favorite Blues music.  The song I am posting this morning was deemed wildly inappropriate at the time of its release for its racy lyrics, but do you think that stopped ole’ Muddy Waters…no way Jose. Waters was the cornerstone artist of Chicago style blues and this song, Hoochie Koochie Man, was very influential in making that street corner style music, with its acoustic guitar and loud harmonica,  popular across the nation. Sure this isn’t new music, but if we don’t look back than we aren’t properly assessing the future. Enjoy!

Muddy Waters, (I’m Your) Hoochie Koochie Man, 1954

One comment on “It’s called the blues for a reason…

  1. Tyler says:

    I’m waiting for your “52 in 52” to start. The delay is killing me! By the way I just hit over 1,000 views the other day on my blog and I added you to my blogroll. Hope your doing well!
    -Best, Tyler

Leave a Reply

