Bon Iver feels “Your Love”

 

 

2011 might be the year of Bon Iver, but all hype aside, I have heard very mixed reviews of BI’s relatively new self titled album. I don’t want to throw him under the bus, but my musical mentor even suggested that there wasn’t much of a difference between Joe Cocker’s “Up Where We Belong” and every track on Justin Vernon’s “diatribe”. While this opinion is extremist at best, I have to admit that Bon Iver’s classic sound is a thing of the past, I do not mean to imply that I don’t like the new album, I just like vintage Vernon better.

Even more ironically, the particular tune I chose for today is not even something Vernon wrote, it’s a cover of The Outfield’s “Your Love”. This 80s frat party/tailgate favorite takes on a completely different sound with Justin’s rustic croon and you might have to listen to it once or twice before you get it, but I promise it will grow on you. I have posted the youtube link to the best version of this song I could find, Vernon even gives his Aunt, Mom and 80s loving sis a shout out at the Riverside show and you have to love that.

 

Leave a Reply

