White Denim unlocked my door with their “Keys”

One of my musical character flaws happens to be my inability to give things a second or third listen. I am painfully aware of the fact that I am always encouraging TrackStar readers to let music marinate and not to write off a song after just one listen, but it seems that I have a hard time taking my own advice, oh how cruel the human condition can be. BUT I had a breakthrough last night and I have to give myself a pat on the back for putting my first listen opinion aside and accompanying a group of friends to the White Denim show at Antones. I quickly saw the error of my ways, soon after WD played their first track, I knew I was going to be in for a delightful surprise, and that I was. I enjoyed every song and I must admit that I experienced a ping of sadness when they concluded their set.

White Denim’s new album D is an absolute joy to listen to and having heard most of the songs live, it is no mystery to me that this quad has experienced such success at home in Austin and on the road. They are so talented and technically speaking, their music is nuanced, layered and utterly brilliant. These musicians are no slouches and I can say that I am truly ecstatic that I caught last night’s show and I will no longer be ignoring the advice I work so hard to dole out :)

White Denim, D, Street Joy

White Denim, D, Keys

Leave a Reply

