25, female, trigger lacking

My first time, swoon, with the Dirty Projectors was actually in a boutique that I frequent here in town (I heart Beehive). Stillness is the Move exploded through the racks of knit tops and maxi dresses and I was instantly hooked. The Dirty Projectors sound was totally foreign to me but utterly enthralling. I have to say I was a little disappointed that the rest of their album, Bitte Orca, was slightly awkward (despite the radness that exploded on Stillness is the Move) but that folks is sometimes just how the cookie crumbles.

That being said, the new effort from the Dirty Projectors, Swing Lo Magellan, is new territory. It’s clear to me that the DP’s focused more acutely on the song writing and less on just being weird and quirky. I would say this new album has 6-7 solid tracks and several that I have listened to multiple times in one sitting. Gun Has No Trigger is the most recent single released off the album, this song is two parts melancholy, one parts chorus and three parts David Longstreth. The track’s simple arrangement remains interesting and dynamic for all 3 minutes and 24 seconds. I hate when I find myself going on and on about a song, so let’s just call a spade a spade and a sick track a sick track. Take a listen and please post and let me know what you think.

I would also highly recommend listening to Knotty Pine a DP collaboration with David Byrne. Enough Said.

xoxo
TrackStar

Leave a Reply

