6th grade talent show.

If you never saw a female classmate sing Robyn’s “Show Me Love” at a middle school talent show

1. You missed out.

2. I’m pretty sure you probably aren’t my exact age…which is probably most people…

3. Most importantly you might not know “Show me Love” was the jam of 1998 and Robyn was all the rage.

It was literally the only song I listened to in 6th grade. I used to pretend to be Tiffany Amber Thiessen from 90210, yeah her name was Valerie too (at the time I don’t think I was aware how promiscuous  and disliked she was on the show, but that’s neither here nor there) and dance around singing “Show Me Love”. While I am describing this scene I am aware how ridiculous it makes me sound, but you can imagine how excited I was when Robyn released her newest single “Dancing on My Own” from Body Talk Pt 1 and it’s actually good!

If you listen to just the lyrics, she basically sounds like a crazy stalker, but the beat is intoxicating and this new Robyn sounds half Kylie Minogue and half Goldfrapp. Part of you might want to deem this song too girly, but Marc Hogan from Pitchfork.com puts it perfectly, “this song effort has plenty to please everyone from post-dubstep crate diggers to teen tweeters.” It’s one of those songs bound for radio repeat, it might already be (I wouldn’t know I avoid the radio), but for now I am totally on board for her comeback and even better I get to reminisce about my 6th grade hay day.

“Dancing On My Own”, Robyn, Body Talk 1