I think I’m feeling nostalgic….

6

This is a picture of my grandparents. Catherine and Fred Ascani. My grandparents were married a very long time and had eight wonderful and beautiful children (I am partial to Betsy, their youngest daughter and also my mother). They both lived long and fulfilling lives, he was a Two Star Air force General and she was a Nurse and Mother, but it’s safe to say that everyday wasn’t easy for them. They were both very busy and spent a lot of time apart and they might not have stopped to thank each other for being wonderful or even to say “I love you” everyday…But if there was ever any doubt that they didn’t experience that all consuming love, this picture puts it to rest.


I am in love with this picture and I can’t stop wondering what music they were dancing to that night. I can just see Fred and Catherine, so long before they were my nanny and poppy, just after the clock struck 12, swaying back and forth, without a care in the world, all 8 kids at home asleep (probably not acutally asleep) and only the melody playing in the background cueing them when to pretend to care about the music, the love and joy is palpable. While you might not know my grandparents, everyone knows what it’s like to be caught in a moment, and this moment needs a song. So I set out to find something that would fit the part and I came up with the predictable ,yet perfect, “At Last” by Etta James. Sure this isn’t new or cutting edge, but this song begs you to be transported elsewhere, just swaying to the music in a state of serene bliss.

Don’t worry tomorrow will be less nostalgia and more new music.