Oh Mama sounds just like Obama

The Drums have a conflicting sound. This might not make sense, but you’ll see. This duo creates track after track that can best be described as both fantastically fresh and reminiscently retro . It’s post-punk 80s pop meets fresh indie-beach-craze synth. The Drums released Summertime! this year on Moshi Moshi records and it was widely reviewed as one of the most exciting and interesting albums on the indie circuit. I don’t know exactly how tuned in I am to said buzz, but all I know is that The Drums know how to write sunny pop music that will be paddling around your head for days. I usually try and stay away from quoting Pitchfork (pretentiousfork…I am aware that this is a stretch), but I think that Stuart Berman might have put it perfectly…”[The Drums] are so behind the curve, they’re practically ahead of a new one.”

The track I am posting to today is their most melodious tune from Summertime!, Let’s Go Surfing, and also my favorite….duh. Additionally, I would like to make a note thatĀ if you believe The Drums to be calling out President Obama to go surfing….don’t fear….they are just calling out your mom.

LISTEN TO IT!

Let’s Go Surfing, The Drums, Summertime!