Music Your Parents Like: Episode 1

5

Ok, party people. Today is exciting. Marion Mauran. Singer. Songwriter. Friend. James Taylor enthusiast. ….will be guest blogging on the second friday of every month. Her taste in music is not expected and that’s why it’s so fabulous. Prepare to fall in love….I might even give you her number if you ask nicely :)

Here she goes…..

Maybe I just have ESPN or something, but I feel very strongly that a tsunami Michael McDonald revival is imminent. Between his cameo appearance on last season’s 30 Rock “Kidney Now” finale , and his guest vocals on Grizzly Bear’s “While You Wait For The Others” I get the impression that a groundswell of Mike McDonald appreciation is churning, from BK to L.A. I don’t care how much Paul Rudd dislikes him his number is up. We’re trending towards seventies saxophones and gospel-tinged soul anyway, aren’t we? Right guys? Right? Here’s a totally innocent pleasure off of MM’s 1982 solo debut….Believe In It….

I am also posting the Grizzly Bear track because I had NO idea MM was featured on this lovely little tune.

____________________________________________________________________

5 comments on “Music Your Parents Like: Episode 1

  1. Hi Marion, my name is Caroline and I’m a huge fan. Don’t know if you remember, but we met last summer at this effing rad Techno Rave in York Harbor (a sleeper summer community in Southern Maine). I believe your nice profile picture on this blog was taken at that event, actually. Anyway, I totally agree with you on the Michael McDonald re-surge. So does my father. And Teddy Mariner.

    Best, Caroline

  2. @pfarrell says:

    Not sure about your timing. Here in corn country, the blue-eyed soul revival already came and went. I’ve got a picture of myself backstage with Hall and Oates to prove it ;). Mr. McDonald opened for them. Great great show. Totally agree with you on the importance of Mr. McDonald. The whole Yacht Rock series proves it.

    @pfarrell

    • Marion says:

      @pfarrell: You’re so right, and – disclaimer – I’m late on most trends, but there was an interesting interview with MM published last September that inspired me to tell everyone what they already know. On working with Grizzly Bear, Michael said:

      “…what the indie rock movement is doing right now is very inspiring…When I was with the Doobies, the style of music was that we all went over the falls with chord progressions, trying to make things as complex and interconnected as possible. The punk movement swung towards being as primitive as possible, but now it’s back to where these guys are good musicians. I never thought that would come back around, but it has.”

  3. Dad says:

    Hi Marion, I’m Val’s Dad, and please forgive me if I have this wrong, but I do not believe we have ever met. I have heard Val talk about you, and it has always been nothing but how great you are. Well, I think it’s pretty great that you threw at least one of us old farts a bone with the 1982 MM track … Thanks! Hmm … 1982 … the year I finally decided to try to become a productive member of society … four year before Val … clearly the best thing that ever happened since for me … showed up in our lives. Anyway, welcome, and as much as I like to read what my daughter puts here, I will look forward to your posts as well!

  4. Rory says:

    Will this Michael McDonald revival be referred to as “post-chillwave”?

Leave a comment